Pearl’s Perspective – Part 4

Hey there it’s Pearl again!

Its been a few months since I’ve written and I apologize for the long hiatus. It’s been a pretty busy summer to say the least. All of a sudden rides with strangers started to increase a ton and for a few weeks there we were driving every day and all day!

And then we stopped.

The reason became clear as soon as the car seats were being loaded into my backseat. I am finally going to meet the little ones that he talks so much about. They were just as sweet and beautiful as advertised. So starting that day in mid-June and ending just a few days ago, my world revolved around these two angels. We traveled many places together. We sang many songs. We told stories. We laughed – a lot.

This past month was the best month of my life. The reason for that is for the first time I felt that my existence really meant something. I’ve never had people call me by name like they did. They greeted me often with a smile and some days jumped up and down with excitement after finding me (he would drive to different spots overnight). But it wasn’t just that these two little ones humored me often by greeting me and talking to me and pretending to drive me while I was parked. (They love playing the Starbucks Drive-thru Game)

It’s the relationship that was fostered under my watch. It was a father bonding with his daughters. Never had I seen him like this. So caring, so loving, so silly and so so so happy.

It was so heart-warming.

On our many journeys together we played “I spy” and announced loudly whenever we saw things like animals, the Batman Building or a passing plane. We counted American Flags on the 4th of July. We went on a road trip to Alabama and another to Kentucky. I rocked them to sleep on more than one occasion. During a fill up at a gas station they rolled their windows down and called out to all the passing cars, “Hey do you want some gas???” That one made me laugh hard!

But now its back to just the two of us and the silence is deafening.

I know he will be his energetic and outgoing self soon enough but now he wears the color of melancholy on his face. Its very apparent that those little girls are the most important thing in the world to him and for good reason. They sure captured my heart in the short time I’ve known them.

There are two open seats for them when they return…

BrokenYetRedeemed

Leave a Reply

