Once a friend, now an enemy

You tricked me into thinking you were a loyal friend.

I trusted you.

I confided in you.

I got close to you – closer than many.

I thought we would always be as thick as thieves.

You tricked me into thinking you were perfect for me.

We shared long nights together,

Told secrets that we never thought would be revealed.

I thought we had something special.

You tricked me into thinking I could trust you.

I relied on you, leaned on you and looked to you for love and acceptance.

Only now as I reflect – as I see clearer now more than ever,

You were no friend of mine.

You were not loyal.

You did not care about me at all.

But even after this revelation –

You tricked me into thinking I should mourn for you.

Why should I mourn over something that wasn’t real?

Why waste my energy, my precious and fragile emotions over you?

I cannot and I will not grieve the loss of someone as manipulative, selfish-driven as you.

You tricked me so many times.

But not anymore.

Not now, Addiction.

You are a disease that once convinced me to keep searching for more.

Now as my life is broken – spoiled by your lies,

I will not turn back to you.

I have a new beginning and a new search.

It is a search that does not involve you.

I am searching for a cure for you.

A new friend – a true friend.

His name is Recovery…

BrokenYetRedeemed

Leave a Reply

