A long run, a long cry

I’ve been running a lot lately and enjoying it more and more. I enjoy the process of ongoing improvement. I appreciate the fact that you have to earn that improvement by logging the miles. You can read every article written by the experts, wear all the cool gear, create the perfect run mix on your phone. You can really, truly want to be a great runner but no one becomes a great runner without running. There is a life metaphor in there somewhere, maybe a few actually.

One thing that I have noticed lately is the long runs are the best. They are obviously the most difficult but by far the most rewarding. I always do them at the end of the week so it’s almost like there is all this anticipation leading up to it. I run alone but it feels like a race. It feels significant. On these runs I have a lot of time to think, to pray, and to release stress and emotion. I have laughed during these runs, even moved to tears on occasion because of a song and definitely let out a hearty yell at the end of a few!

One day after a long run I barely made it back to my apartment when I suddenly starting sobbing. I could not stop crying for several minutes and frankly didn’t want to stop. It was therapeutic. It was much-needed. It was a mixture of tears of sadness and grief and tears of joy. I have to say that the lion’s share of tears were surprisingly of joy and gratitude. The fact is everyday I wake up with a new reality but I wake up with a roof over my head and a job and family and friends that love me. Every day I wake up separated from the two people I love the most in this world but I awake knowing that they love me no matter what. That will keep you going, trust me.

There will be many more mountains to climb, challenges to overcome and long runs to log. And many more tears along the way. I’m looking forward to all of it!

BrokenYetRedeemed

Leave a Reply

