Keep Surprising Me

Just when I think my world is set,

that I have the answers and life makes sense:

You surprise me.

I was surprised when you led me to be an educator.

I was surprised when you called me to live far away from the place of my birth.

You have guided me through decision after decision and trial after trial.

Each time that I am surprised I am reminded of my lack of faith.

When I didn’t know how to climb out of debt,

or how to afford to travel the world:

You surprised me.

When I learned of the news of my inability to have children of my own,

and let fear and doubt control my thoughts of the future:

You surprised me.

When I think that by leaving one place that the next could never be as good,

that friendships, work colleagues and life experiences are irreplaceable:

You surprise me.

When I think that my addiction is manageable,

that its for the best that no one knows:

You surprise me.

Why am I surprised when You rock my world,

when the foundations of my life are shaken by You?

Why am I surprised when you assure me and love me,

despite the sin that is so great, so grim and dark?

Why am I surprised that despite my doubt and unbelief,

though I am like a mule and refuse Your way often:

That you still want to surprise me with salvation?

Your salvation is revealed every day in many ways.

Like when I think my world is over,

when I feel that the pain of life is too great to bear:

You surprise me.

When doors of employment seem to be closing,

when time ticks away and my phone has remained silent:

You surprise me.

So please Lord I pray,

help my unbelief and doubt so that I live in assurance.

But by all means:

Keep surprising me.

BrokenYetRedeemed

Leave a Reply

